First Time Minnesota Driver's License

  1. Coon Rapids Drop Box Out of Order

    The Anoka County License Center drop box located at our Coon Rapids facility (455 99th Ave NW Ste 100, Coon Rapids, MN 55433) is currently out of order. Please utilize our other drop box locations until further notice. We apologize for any inconvenience. Read on...
View All

Anoka County License Centers:

  • Do not offer the "written" (knowledge) test 
  • Do not offer the "behind-the-wheel" (road) test to get a driver’s license

To find locations where you can take the knowledge and skills tests, see the Minnesota Driver and Vehicle Services website.

After you have completed the knowledge and/or road tests, you can apply for a Driver’s License at any of our five Anoka County locations.

You will be required to complete an application. Applications are only available at the license centers for first time applicants.

If you have a driver's license from another U.S. State, Canadian Province, or U.S. Territory, you can apply for a Minnesota driver's license at one of our locations if you are 21 or older and your current license is valid and unexpired. You will need to bring in additional identification documents to create your Minnesota record.

What do I need to Bring?

  • Proof that you have completed and passed the knowledge and/or road test.
  • Two forms of proper identification. Please use this Identification Requirements chart to determine what two forms of identification you will need to provide.
  • The applicant's social security number.
  • Corrective lenses (if needed).
  • Parent or legal guardian (if you are under age 18). If a Parent/Guardian is not available at time of application, you can pick up an application and take it with you to obtain their notarized signature and return to complete your transaction.

Driver’s License Manuals

Driver’s License manuals are available for purchase at any license center. This manual will aid in studying for the knowledge test as well has help you brush up on changes to Minnesota driving laws. Prices effective January 2, 2022, subject to change:

  • Driver’s Manual: $6
  • Motorcycle Manual: $6
  • Commercial Driver’s Manual: $12

The required fee for a Driver’s License is dependent on type and endorsements. Please use this Fee Chart to determine what you will owe.