Effective August 1, 2023, persons authorized to perform civil marriages now include individuals that are a minimum of 21 years of age who register a certificate of filing with a county in Minnesota prior to performing a marriage.
Minnesota Statute 517.05 requires that persons who are ordained to perform marriage ceremonies, both Minnesota residents and non-residents, must be 21 years of age (MS517.04) and register their certificate of ordination before performing a marriage ceremony in Minnesota. Once the certificate is registered, marriages may be performed anywhere in the state.
How To Obtain
You can register a certificate of ordination or license of ministry in person at the Government Center Vital Records Office or send the certificate by mail. If mailing, include the required forms listed below along with the fee.
Ministers Only: The certificate of ordination (not a copy). This will be returned.